Karnataka government formation Highlights: Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar disqualifies three MLAs

Karnataka news Updates: Rebel Congress MLAs Earlier, senior BJP leaders from Karnataka met partys national president Amit Shah and working president JP Nadda to apprise them about the latest political situation and also discuss the necessary steps for the formation of the next government. Senior leader and former CM Jagadish Shettar told ANI that the delegation will again meet Shah and Nadda later in the day. They want to discuss again this afternoon at 3 PM, then they will take a final decision in the Parliamentary Board meeting, he said. The 14-month-old Congress-JD(S) coalition government failed to prove its strength in the Vidhan Soudha on Tuesday night, paving the way for BJP to stake claim to form the government. However, the BJPs central leadership is treading cautiously in view of the impending Supreme Courts ruling in the matter as well as the Speakers decision on the fate of 17 rebel Congress-JD(S) MLAs whose resignation pushed the Congress-JDS government in a crisis. In the 225-member House which includes one nominated member, the BJP has 105 MLAs and enjoys the support of two independents. On Tuesday night, at the time of division, 20 MLAs were missing from House, reducing its effective strength to 205. The motion moved by HD Kumaraswamy secured 99 votes, four less than the halfway mark to claim a majority. A total of 105 MLAs voted against the motion.”,”headline”: “Karnataka government formation Highlights: Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar disqualifies threeMLAs